VirtualBox

Ticket #8339 (new defect)

Opened 3 years ago

Last modified 3 years ago

Mac OS X Host: Fullscreen is always on main monitor, regardless of vm screen position

Reported by: cannotread Owned by:
Priority: major Component: other
Version: VirtualBox 4.0.2 Keywords:
Cc: marc.horstmann@… Guest type: Windows
Host type: Mac OS X

Description

Hi,

starting with 4.0.0 if I have a vm window on the secondary monitor and then switch it to fullscreen, it always goes full screen on the main monitor. In 3.x it went fullscreen on the exact monitor the windows was beforehand. Now I have to make the external (projector) screen the main one, fullscreen the vm and then take the main screen back, so the host programs open new windows on the laptop screen. This makes VirtualBox almost unusable since this is a real hassle not only when setting up the projector the first time. Now, when the vm reboots (still in fullscreen) and the vm additions kick in to change resolution, they take the resolution from the main screen, which is different from the projector.. Sorry: absolutely unusable. Furthermore if the fullscreen vm has focus, menubar and dock on main screen get hidden, which, too, has not been the case with 3.x. Please change this back. ;-) Please do not hesitate to ask for further information. VB is a great product, I'd really like to help. :)

Change History

comment:1 Changed 3 years ago by tmtmtm

Confirming same behavior on win7 x32 host running ubuntu 10.10 x64, very annoying.

comment:2 Changed 3 years ago by tmtmtm

forgot to mention: running vbox 4.0.4r70112. vbox 3.x had no such problems at all.

comment:3 Changed 3 years ago by tmtmtm

hmm it seems that tickets are not very well attended judging from "Ticket #6722" which talks about same issue for 3.2.x ( I assume i have upgraded from 3.1.x then, not sure now)

workaround: to choose which monitor to use select one in the new "view" menu (press HOST+HOME in fullscreen and go view->virtual screen...->use...)

feature suggestion: put additional item in "view" menu which restores old behavior and make it default as current situation is *very* unintuitive and causes confusion. p.s. this suggestion might apply to single screen guests only, i'm guessing there were reasons behind this change related to multi-screen guests.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.

www.oracle.com
ContactPrivacy policyTerms of Use