VirtualBox

Ticket #7499 (closed defect: fixed)

Opened 4 years ago

Last modified 3 years ago

Defaulting to restoring a snapshot is not appropriate and results in data loss

Reported by: T.J. Crowder Owned by:
Priority: major Component: GUI
Version: VirtualBox 3.2.8 Keywords:
Cc: Guest type: other
Host type: Linux

Description

If you once choose Machine | Close and opt to restore the most recent snapshot, that choice is retained. This sets up data loss as noted in ticket #5824, but the "fix" for that ticket does not fix the problem. It only enables someone who is very familiar with VirtualBox to explicitly, per-VM, force a default. Not at all the same thing.

I submit that ticket #5824 didn't go nearly far enough. Either:

  1. Have further, explicit confirmation of such a data-destroying operation.

or

  1. Don't remember the snapshot part. After all, it's easy enough to restore the snapshot afterward if you forgot to tick the box.

It makes no sense whatsoever that days, weeks, months, even years later (since one very rarely actually has to use Machine | Close) the default would be to reset the machine to an earlier state, destroying people's work for failing to notice the state of one tickbox amongst several.

Change History

comment:1 Changed 3 years ago by frank

  • Status changed from new to closed
  • Resolution set to fixed

VBox 4.1 introduces an additional question allowing the user to create an additional snapshot.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.

www.oracle.com
ContactPrivacy policyTerms of Use