VirtualBox

Ticket #6601 (closed defect: wontfix)

Opened 4 years ago

Last modified 4 years ago

"Delete snapshot" is actually "merge snapshot"

Reported by: pgquiles Owned by:
Priority: minor Component: GUI
Version: VirtualBox 3.1.6 Keywords:
Cc: Guest type: other
Host type: other

Description

In the "Snapshots" tab in the GUI, when you right-click on a snapshot there are two options:

  • Restore snapshot
  • Delete snapshot

When clicking "Delete snapshot", the expected behavior would be:

  1. remove the snapshot
  2. return to the state previous to the snapshot

But what it actually does is merging the snapshot into the previous state.

My request: have three options for snapshots:

  • Restore snapshot
  • Merge snapshot with previous state (what "Delete snapshot" currently does
  • Discard snapshot, which would actually remove the snapshot. If there is a child snapshot, this option should not be available (you'd need to use "merge snapshot with previous state" in the child snapshot before being able to discard this snapshot)

Change History

comment:1 Changed 4 years ago by sandervl73

  • Status changed from new to closed
  • Resolution set to wontfix

No, we will not change the terminology again. People do not know what merge means. What each action does is clearly explained in the manual.

comment:2 Changed 4 years ago by pgquiles

If people do not know what 'merge' means, then do not use that term. It is very confusing to see a warning saying changes will be merged and a "merging" progress bar after I have clicked "delete".

comment:3 Changed 4 years ago by sandervl73

We need to keep it as simple as possible. When you delete the snapshot, then it's gone. Whether the state will be merged backwards or forwards is not really relevant.

The delete action removes the snapshot, but that implies merging to make sure the tree stays consistent.

We had something similar to what you propose and it simply confused everybody. And also keep in mind that snapshots are much more complicated than they may appear to be.

comment:4 Changed 4 years ago by klaus

It makes no sense to talk about merging snapshots. The snapshot is deleted - how else you want to call making something go away? It's not like deleting snapshot 2 will logically change the contents of either snapshot 1 or 3.

The progress messages talk about merging diff images, and again that's correct. Those are really merged as part of deleting a snapshot. If there's ambiguous wording then please report it. That's considered a bug.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.

www.oracle.com
ContactPrivacy policyTerms of Use