VirtualBox

Ticket #9387 (closed defect: fixed)

Opened 3 years ago

Last modified 2 years ago

Restoring snapshot when closing machine: current state marked modified sometimes -> Fixed in SVN

Reported by: jmausr Owned by:
Priority: major Component: GUI
Version: VirtualBox 4.1.0 Keywords:
Cc: Guest type: other
Host type: Windows

Description

When shutting down a VM and choosing "restore current snapsot", sometimes (say, once every 5 or 10 times), the current state is kept marked as "(modified)". However the snapshot is restored and the differencing image does reset to a very small size.

It's probably some race condition as I see no correlation between actions and the problem happening. I'm attaching two logs from the same VM; the first one (good.log) worked correctly, the second one (bad.log) exhibited the problem. I doubt the logs show anything unusual though.

Attachments

good.log Download (75.5 KB) - added by jmausr 3 years ago.
good.log
bad.log Download (75.7 KB) - added by jmausr 3 years ago.
bad.log

Change History

Changed 3 years ago by jmausr

good.log

Changed 3 years ago by jmausr

bad.log

comment:1 Changed 3 years ago by poulbak

I can confirm this, the frequency is as you say. Workaround is to use the GUI to revert to snapshot (at least that works for me). Both host and guest are Windows 7 64-bit.

Don't know if this is relevant, I always get lines like this in vboxsvc.log: ERROR [COM]: aRC=VBOX_E_OBJECT_IN_USE (0x80bb000c) aIID={53f9cc0c-e0fd-40a5-a404-a7a5272082cd} aComponent={Medium} aText={Medium 'C:\Vm\Windows 7\Windows 7.vdi' cannot be closed because it is still attached to 1 virtual machines}, preserve=false

comment:2 Changed 3 years ago by frank

Should be fixed in VBox 4.1.4, please confirm.

comment:3 Changed 3 years ago by jmausr

I've done a bit of testing in 4.1.4 and the problem seems to be gone, thanks!

Since it wasn't 100% reproducible in the first place, I'll let you know if it comes back.

comment:4 Changed 3 years ago by jmausr

Unfortunately a new, worse bug has appeared: after restarting the UI(*), all snapshots are marked as "modified" in all VMs. I don't know if it's related or a separate bug should be filed for that.

(*) More specifically, after restarting VBoxSVC, which normally requires quitting for a few seconds.

comment:5 Changed 2 years ago by poetzsch

  • Summary changed from Restoring snapshot when closing machine: current state marked modified sometimes to Restoring snapshot when closing machine: current state marked modified sometimes -> Fixed in SVN

This is fixed in SVN and the fix will be available with the next minor release.

comment:6 Changed 2 years ago by frank

  • Status changed from new to closed
  • Resolution set to fixed

The fix is part of VirtualBox 4.1.6.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.

www.oracle.com
ContactPrivacy policyTerms of Use