VirtualBox

Ticket #8587 (closed enhancement: fixed)

Opened 3 years ago

Last modified 3 years ago

default setup makes it very easy to cause an acciental reboot with a single keystroke

Reported by: dsjstc Owned by:
Priority: minor Component: VM control
Version: VirtualBox 4.0.4 Keywords: reboot, data loss
Cc: Guest type: Windows
Host type: Linux

Description

In the default setup, pressing <rctrl>-R causes an immedate reboot.

Because most typists use the opposite hand for control and shift keys as the character they are typing, this is also a standard keystroke combination for refreshing a webpage in several browsers, and replying to the current message in Thunderbird.

At the very least, there should be an option to have a warning dialog when this command is issued from the keyboard. This has been discussed here:

 http://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=25454

Change History

comment:1 Changed 3 years ago by michael

  • Status changed from new to closed
  • Resolution set to invalid

There is such a warning window unless you have disabled it. The forum posting you link to is a request for additional restrictions so that the author can disable the warning and still not reboot by accident. Try the "re-enable all warnings" menu item, or poking around in the XML configuration files if that sort of thing doesn't worry you, to get the warning back.

comment:2 Changed 3 years ago by dsjstc

Thanks Michael. I was actually attempting to suggest that the warning should be tied to the UI element, not the action. IE, when I disabled the warning dialog from the menu item, it didn't necessarily mean I no longer needed it for the (much more accident-prone) key combo.

But that's splitting hairs. Resetting the warnings also solves my immediate problem. Thanks very much.

comment:3 Changed 3 years ago by Technologov

  • Status changed from closed to reopened
  • Resolution invalid deleted

Since "Reboot" operation is critical one, please disallow to disable warning for it. I.e. the warning should always occur.

This will result in users doing "ctrl+R -> Enter" rather than just "ctrl+R".

-Technologov

comment:4 Changed 3 years ago by frank

  • Status changed from reopened to closed
  • Resolution set to fixed

I do no agree. If the user wishes to disable that warning then he is free to. 4.0.6 will have support for host key combinations (the various 4.0.5 builds floating around have this feature already) so this will be even less critical.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.

www.oracle.com
ContactPrivacy policyTerms of Use