VirtualBox

Ticket #6574 (closed enhancement: fixed)

Opened 4 years ago

Last modified 3 years ago

Behavioral extension of remove machine action

Reported by: jonalv Owned by:
Priority: minor Component: GUI
Version: VirtualBox 3.1.6 Keywords:
Cc: Guest type: other
Host type: other

Description

When creating a new machine a file for the disk is also created. However when removing a machine that disk file is left untouched. This has two effects which strikes me as less than awesome:

  • Creating a new machine with the same name fails with a cryptic error message about already existing. (Which first was quite unintuitive for me since I just deleted the old one)
  • A user removing a machine with the hopes of saving expensive disk space does in fact not do so to the full extent he / she expects to do.

However I got told on IRC that it wasn't quite that easy. A machine could be using multiple disks and removing them just because you removed a machine is absolutely not what you want. My first thought was to add a three way dialog when removing a machine:

  1. Just remove the machine
  2. Remove the machine and all disks
  3. Cancel

But maybe you want to save some disks and remove some disks someone then said. It is probable too complicated to have a huge dialog where you can choose to delete some and keep some. (Although Eclipse does something similar regarding what to save and not to save when closing all editors at once)

Anyway, I think my issues boils down the fact that deleting a machine is not the opposite action of creating one. But the names hint at it and the vdi files which get's left behind does so silently. Maybe someone else can think of a nice solution to this problem?

Change History

comment:1 Changed 3 years ago by frank

  • Status changed from new to closed
  • Resolution set to fixed

Fixed in VBox 4.0.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.

www.oracle.com
ContactPrivacy policyTerms of Use