VirtualBox

Ticket #18203 (new enhancement)

Opened 2 years ago

Last modified 2 years ago

Confirmation box to Remove Machine with Delete all files

Reported by: twom Owned by:
Component: GUI Version: VirtualBox 5.2.18
Keywords: Cc:
Guest type: all Host type: Windows

Description

Machine is deleted immediately after pressing Delete all files. There should be some confirmation box to remove all files :).

Change History

comment:1 Changed 2 years ago by socratis

I'm sorry, but... what? There is a confirmation dialog. You click "Remove..." on the VM, and you are asked what to do. That is the confirmation dialog. With online help on the dialog, if I may add...

You are asked to "Cancel" or actually remove the VM. That's the confirmation part. Now, there is a slight difference, in that the "Remove..." option, has two sub-options: "Remove only" which keeps the VM files or "Delete all files" (self-explanatory). And a big explanation on the top, not just a tooltip that no one reads (except if you happen to be the author or the translator).

You're not actually suggesting to have another, second confirmation dialog, after the confirmation dialog, are you? Why not then add a third or a fourth?

If anyone isn't "protected" enough by a confirmation dialog, after a user initiated action (with no default shortcut), nothing can stop you from going click, click, click, click. As it was famously said:

"There is no counter measure for foolishness". ;)

Plus you alienate/desensitize the end user with too many confirmation dialogs...

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.

www.oracle.com
ContactPrivacy policyTerms of Use